Subscribe Now

Jim Pratley

Professor of Agriculture, Charles Sturt University

Jim is Research Professor of Agriculture at Charles Sturt University and Secretary of the Australian Council of Deans of Agriculture. He graduated with BSc and PhD degrees from the University of NSW and took up an academic position at Wagga Wagga.

He was Foundation Dean of Science and Agriculture at Charles Sturt University from 1990 until 2006. Jim has taught courses in agronomy and related areas and has published widely in conservation farming, weed management, herbicide resistance, allelopathy and agricultural education. He is a former President of the Australian Society of Agronomy and former Vice President of the International Allelopathy Society.

He has served on the Boards of the Cooperative Research Centres of Viticulture, Sustainable Rice Production, Weed Management Systems and Plant Based Management of Dryland Salinity. He is a member of the Research Advisory Committee of the Australian Farm Institute and formerly served on the NSW Primary Industries Ministerial Advisory Council and the National Council for Agriculture, Fisheries and Food of the Australian Academy of Science.

He completed a Ministerial Review into Agricultural Education and Training in NSW in 2013 and was awarded an AM in 2019 for services to agricultural education.